New University Club Photographic Display Showcases Evolution of USC Campus
The USC Libraries have teamed up with the USC University Club for a photographic display showcasing the expansion and evolution of the University Park Campus.
“History and Tradition: Building a Campus and Community” features nearly four dozen black-and-white images culled from the USC Archives and the USC Digital Library. The images—on display in the USC University Club vestibule—celebrate the iconic architecture and traditions that have helped shape the university’s identity.
Among the images are drawings of the now defunct USC Maclay College of Theology (since relocated and integrated into the Claremont Colleges) and the USC Chaffey College of Agriculture (now an independent institution that serves 18,000 students). Other highlights include the Tajo Building on First and Broadway in downtown L.A. that once housed the USC College of Law, and the College of Liberal Arts Building which occupied the space where the Taper Hall of Humanities stands today. (“Old College,” as it was affectionately referred was razed in 1949 when it was deemed seismically unsafe.)
A portion of the display is devoted to the history of the USC University Club and its numerous incarnations and renovations throughout its history. Next summer, the USC University Club will move into its new location in Stoops King Hall on the north side of campus.
“History and Tradition: Building a Campus and Community” is on display during normal USC University Club hours. The USC University Club is currently located at 645 Exposition Blvd. on the USC University Park campus. Call 213-740-5208 for more information about the USC University Club or the display. Visit digitallibrary.usc.edu to browse images in the USC Digital Library.