2014 Wall of Scholars Honorees Etched into USC History

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 05/16/14

A ceremony in Leavey Library on Thursday, May 14, honored 67 exceptional students whose names will soon be etched in glass on the Wall of Scholars in the library’s Weingart Reading Room.

Surrounded by the names of past honorees, USC President C. L. Max Nikias, USC Libraries Dean Catherine Quinlan, and Skull and Dagger Society President Jerry Papazian joined hundreds of family members, friends, faculty, and staff in congratulating the graduating students.

The Skull and Dagger Society, USC’s oldest honor society, created the Wall of Scholars in 1995. Each spring, the names of students who have been awarded a national or international scholarship, or who have earned certain USC academic accolades, are added to the wall’s glass panels.

Papazian welcomed the crowd to the ceremony and secured a round of applause “for a group that rarely gets acknowledged publicly: the parents and other family members who have been so supportive to our students.” 

Nikias called the students’ inclusion on the Wall of Scholars “a tremendous tribute to your exceptional talents, your passion for knowledge, and your dedication to scholarship” and stressed the rarity of the distinction. 

“You are now part of a very select group of outstanding students whose accomplishments will always be recorded in this prominent place,” Nikias said. “When you return to campus in a few months or a few years or a few decades, you can always return to this place in this room. And when you do, you can proudly show your friends and your families, and even your own children or grandchildren that you have a special place in the history of academic excellence in this university.”

Quinlan noted that Leavey Library, which students visit more than one million times each year, is a fitting place to honor the academic success of USC students.

“This is our only library that is open 24 hours a day, so I know that many of the students with us today know this library particularly well,” she said. “The Weingart Reading Room is one of our most popular study places on campus, and if you walk through at three o’clock in the morning, it is full. That’s a testament to the quality of our students, and why we are honoring so many today.”

This year’s Wall of Scholars honorees are:

Valedictorian: Jana Hollis Shapiro

Salutatorians: Brian A. Lentz, Jared Todd Sokol

University Trustees Award: Patrick J. Atchison, Benjamin C. Diaz, Reid E. Lidow, Aaron R. Lieberman, Brandon E. Martinez, Jr., Adeel Mohammadi, Awadi S. Rathugamage

Emma Josephine Bradley Bovard Award: Grace C. Chediak, Ellen R. Feldman, Anjlie A. Gupta, Julia R. Lazzari-Dean, Mabel Wing-Nam Tsui, Kaitlyn Mei Ann Yim

Rockwell Dennis Hunt Scholastic Award: Joseph Cline Bebel

Truman Scholarship: Oscar de los Santos

Gates Cambridge Scholarship: Reid E. Lidow

Goldwater Scholarship: Luke Bouma

Boren Scholarship: Kayla B. Foster, Greg Garcia, Benjamin Miles, Linda Wang

Fulbright Graduate Study and Research Abroad Grants: Marguerite Bowen, Fan Fan,
Samantha A. Freitag, John Hernandez, Brendan McMahon, Diem-Tran (Bijou) Nguyen, Rebecca L. Ryan, Sarah Tomlinson, Matthew Wong

Andrew W. Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowships: Anneleise A. Azua, Kalena Giessler, Karissa Masciel, Adeel Mohammadi, Megan L. Nathan, Jasmine Torres, Vivian Yan

Steven and Kathryn Sample Renaissance Scholar Prize: Kausar Ali,
Claire Bazley, Morgan L. Cheeks, Brendan Colvert, Grant Dixon, Brandon E. Martinez, Jr., Karissa Masciel, Adeel Mohammadi, Kaitlyn Mei, Ann Yim, Alyssa Y. Zhou

Global Scholar Prize: Jessica Friedmann, Zachary Gima, Alice Hall-Partyka, Emily Holmes Katherine Kelsh, Jorge Perez, Laura Pochowski, Nora Snyder, Anish Tilak, Tatumn Walter

Discovery Scholar Prize: Michael S. Bertch, Peter H. Cameron, Brandon N. Glousman, Richelle E. Gribble, Saad Haddad, Julia R. Lazzari-Dean, Matthew E. Orr, Carlos M. Portela, Kevin H. Reinhardt, Tiffany Y. Wang

Dean Joan Metcalf Schaefer Scholarship: Kelly Belter, Leslie Chang, Kalai Chik, Ehrenstrom X. Elder, Nicole Hamasaki, Hanna Jolkovsky, Esther Jiho Lee, Megan McKenzie, John Merritt, Michelle M. Prestholt, Camille Saucier

J. Wesley Robb Endowed Scholarship in Human Values: Mathew Goldstein, Carolyn M. Windler

Arnold S. Dunn Renaissance Scholarship for the Sciences, Arts, and Humanities: Mackenzie Darr Postel

The names also have been added to the USC Libraries’ virtual Wall of Scholars at usc.edu/libraries/wallofscholars. The site also provides the physical location for all the names on the wall.

Photo: Rich Schmitt

Bookmark and Share